Job Type
Date Added
New Search

Chester Diocese

Back to recruiters
Founded: 1541
Parishes: 268
Churches: 343
Geography: Cheshire; Wirral; Halton, south of the Mersey; Warrington, south of the Mersey; Trafford, except for an area in the north, in the diocese of Manchester; Stockport, except for a few parishes in the north, in the diocese of Manchester, and in the east, in the diocese of Derby; the eastern half of Tameside; a few parishes in Derbyshire, a few parishes in Manchester; a few parishes in Flintshire.
Overseas Link Dioceses: Aru and Boga Congo, Melanesia
Population: 1630000
Area Square Miles: 1030
Full time Stipendiary Parochial Clergy: 212
Benefices: 216
Source: The Church of England Year Book. For more information visit the Diocese page on Crockford's here

The Diocese of Chester is in the province of York in the Church of England, part of the global Anglican Communion. We are linked with the Anglican Church of Melanesia in the Solomon Islands and the Dioceses of Aru and Boga in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The Church of England comprises two Provinces, Canterbury and York. Each province is broken down into dioceses. There are 41 in England (42 including the Diocese in Europe). The Diocese of Chester was created in 1541 and assumed roughly its present dimensions in 1880.  It covers an area of 1030 square miles, approximately the old Victorian County of Chester, including parts which subsequently became absorbed into Merseyside and Greater Manchester. The Rivers Mersey and Tame approximately delineate the boundary with Liverpool and Manchester.  There are areas of dense urban population, mainly in the north, stretching from Birkenhead to East Manchester. There are prosperous suburban regions of West and South Wirral, Chester and south of Manchester, with a mainly rural heartland, bounded by the Derbyshire Pennines and the Welsh Border.  The overall population is around 1.6 million.