Job Type
Date Added
New Search

Worcester Diocese

Back to recruiters
Founded: 679
Parishes: 169
Churches: 276
Geography: Worcestershire, except for a few parishes in the south, in the diocese of Gloucester, and in the north, in the diocese of Birmingham, Dudley; a few parishes in Wolverhampton, Sandwell and in northern Gloucestershire
Overseas Link Dioceses: Peru (Province of Southern Cone), Morogoro (Province of Tanzania) and Propstei Stendal-Magdeburg (EMD-EKD)
Population: 883000
Area Square Miles: 670
Full time Stipendiary Parochial Clergy: 106
Benefices: 94
Source: The Church of England Year Book. For more information visit the Diocese page on Crockford's here

The Diocese of Worcester is one of 41 (42 including the Diocese in Europe) that make up the Church of England.


The Diocese of Worcester also forms part of the Province of Canterbury.

The diocese covers an area of 670 square miles and includes the County of Worcestershire, the Metropolitan Borough of Dudley, and a few parishes in northern Gloucestershire, south east Wolverhampton and Sandwell - so we are not short on variety. 


From the urban north, with its impressive history and cultural mix, to the agricultural south where the rich colours of rural life flavour many people's day to day experience, the diocese has much to offer to visitor, resident and worshipper alike.


The diocese was founded in around 679 by St Theodore of Canterbury for the tribe of the Hwicce. Today the diocese covers a population of 877,000. We have 98 benefices, 172 parishes and 275 churches.