Job Type
Date Added
New Search

Truro Diocese

Back to recruiters
Founded: 1877
Parishes: 214
Churches: 306
Geography: Cornwall; the Isles of Scilly; two parishes in Devon
Overseas Link Dioceses: Strangnas, Sweden
Population: 557000
Area Square Miles: 1390
Full time Stipendiary Parochial Clergy: 77
Benefices: 101
Source: The Church of England Year Book. For more information visit the Diocese page on Crockford's here

The Diocese of Truro and the Isles of Scilly includes over 300 churches in more than 200 parishes across the whole of Cornwall (plus two in Devon) and the Isles of Scilly, an area of 1,370 square miles.


The diocese is divided into two pastoral administrative areas, called Archdeaconries, and these contain groups of parishes called Deaneries. The Archdeaconry of Bodmin and the Archdeaconry of Cornwall each contain 12 Deaneries in total, five in Bodmin and seven in Cornwall.


The 15th Bishop of Truro, whose vision guided the mission and ministry of Anglicans across the diocese, was the Right Reverend Tim Thornton. He was welcomed to Cornwall in March 2009 and left the diocese in the summer of 2017 to become the new Bishop at Lambeth, Bishop to HM Armed Forces, and Bishop for the Falkland Islands.


It is anticipated that the next Bishop of Truro will be appointed in the late summer or autumn of 2018. The Bishop of St Germans, The Right Reverend Dr Chris Goldsmith, is the suffragan bishop and currently at the helm in the diocese until this new appointment is made.


The diocese is one of 42 in the Church of England and although we are a ‘young’ diocese, formed on 15 December 1876 from the Archdeaconry of Cornwall in the Diocese of Exeter, the Christian faith has been alive here since at least the 4th century AD – more than 100 years before there was an Archbishop of Canterbury. And Cornwall had its own Bishop at St Germans until the latter part of the 10th century.