Job Type
Date Added
New Search

Southwark Diocese

Back to recruiters
Founded: 1905
Parishes: 292
Churches: 359
Geography: Greater London south of the Thames, except for most of the London Boroughs of Bromley and Bexley, in the diocese of Rochester, and a few parishes in the south-west, in the diocese of Guildford; the eastern third of Surrey
Overseas Link Dioceses: Manicaland, Central Zimbabwe, Matabeleland, Masvingo (Zimbabwe)
Population: 2822000
Area Square Miles: 317
Full time Stipendiary Parochial Clergy: 324
Benefices: 256
Source: The Church of England Year Book. For more information visit the Diocese page on Crockford's here
The Diocese of Southwark is one of the 42 dioceses of the Church of England, which is how the Anglican (Episcopalian Church) is known in England. We are in the Province of Canterbury and are part of the worldwide Anglican Communion which has nearly 70 million members. The Diocese of Southwark is twinned with three Anglican Dioceses in Zimbabwe. The Croydon Episcopal Area is twinned with Central Zimbabwe Diocese, the Woolwich Area with Manicaland and the Kingston Area with Matabeleland.  (Southwark Cathedral is twinned with a fourth - Masvingo and Rochester Diocese is twinned with the fifth – Harare.)
Our Diocesan vision is:

To serve our communities
Share our faith, with great joy and gladness
Be the church: a people with hearts on fire, loving God, walking with Jesus and led by the Spirit.

The Diocese, which was founded in 1905, covers South London and East Surrey. The area of London north of the River Thames is served by the Diocese of London
The Diocese is divided into three Episcopal Areas - Croydon, Kingston and Woolwich - each with an 
area Bishop, two Archdeacons and a team of clergy and laity who carry out various roles related to vocations, Minority Ethnic Anglican Concerns, women’s ministry and Readers.