Job Type
Date Added
New Search

Sheffield Diocese

Back to recruiters
Founded: 1914
Parishes: 175
Churches: 211
Geography: Sheffield; Rotherham; Doncaster, except for a few parishes in the south-east, in the diocese of Southwell and Nottingham; an area of North Lincolnshire; an area of south-eastern Barnsley; a small area of the East Riding of Yorkshire,
Overseas Link Dioceses: Argentina, Hattingen Witten (Germany), Bondo (Kenya)
Population: 1287000
Area Square Miles: 610
Full time Stipendiary Parochial Clergy: 118
Benefices: 144
Source: The Church of England Year Book. For more information visit the Diocese page on Crockford's here

The Diocese of Sheffield was formed in 1914 and is in the Northern Province of York.  It has a population of approximately 1.25 million people, 122 stipendiary clergy, 185 parishes and 219 churches (at the end of 2017).  It covers Sheffield, Rotherham and Doncaster and the subsidiary towns and villages of those areas.

The Diocese is led by the Bishop of Sheffield (Diocesan Bishop) and the Bishop of Doncaster (Suffragan Bishop). It is separated into two Archdeaconries: Sheffield and Rotherham; and Doncaster.  Within these archdeaconries are the 12 Deaneries of: Attercliffe, Ecclesall, Ecclesfield, Hallam, Laughton, Rotherham; and Adwick-le-Street, Doncaster, Snaith & Hatfield, Tankersley, Wath and West Doncaster.


Wed 29 Jun @ 09:16
Assistant Organist vacancy in London and Home Counties #churchjobs